I have searched all over for this - Printable Version +- BP Forums (https://bpforums.info) +-- Forum: Archived Forums (https://bpforums.info/forumdisplay.php?fid=55) +--- Forum: Archived Forums (https://bpforums.info/forumdisplay.php?fid=56) +---- Forum: VB.NET (Visual Basic 2010/2008) (https://bpforums.info/forumdisplay.php?fid=8) +----- Forum: Programming Help (https://bpforums.info/forumdisplay.php?fid=9) +----- Thread: I have searched all over for this (/showthread.php?tid=379) |
I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-05-2011 I have searched Googly Woogly everywhere over the past couple of days for this and can't find a definite solution anywhere. What I need is some code or a component or something that will allow me to place a Horizontal Ruler and a Vertical Number List on a Rich Text Box in Visual Basic 2010. The vertical numberlist would be automated where a new line creates a new number etc. You know what I am getting at. Anyways, does anyone have that magical piece of code or know where one could get it? <!-- shock: --><img src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_eek.gif" alt="hock:" title="Shocked" /><!-- shock: --> Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-05-2011 Gotta say I've never heard "Googly Woogly" Used as a term before, but I know what you are getting at. For the vertical line counter, it is very simple to code. All you need to do is setup a textbox to the left of your main richtextbox, and give it some type of code like this. (Please note, this code has not been tested) Code: Sub reLine(ByVal rtb as richtextbox) You can obviously do more advanced things with this code, but here is the jist of it. Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-05-2011 Hi Brandon, Thanks for that. But it doesn't work I'm afraid. Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-05-2011 Really? I just tested it and it seems to work. Call this sub when the richtextbox's text has changed. For example... Code: Sub rtb_changed handles RichTextBox1.TextChanged Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-05-2011 Nope. The text box to the left just stays blank. Also, when I use: Code: Sub rtb_changed handles RichTextBox1.TextChanged Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-05-2011 Well, you need to combine the two bits of code.. So just insert this whole block into your form: Code: Sub rtb_changed handles RichTextBox1.TextChanged And make sure that the textbox on the left is called textbox1 Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-05-2011 Okay, I have done that and now get an error about RichTextBox1 cannot be converted to System.Windows.Form.RichTextBox Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-06-2011 Well that's strange... Make sure that on your form the RichTextBox1 is actually a richtextbox. Attached is a project file of a sample setup using this code, hopefully it helps you. [attachment=0]<!-- ia0 -->LineCounter.zip<!-- ia0 -->[/attachment] Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-06-2011 I am definitely doing something wrong. I removed the richtextbox and placed a new one there, inserted the code you provided, ran debug and the whole textbox on the left went crazy splurting out random numbers. I presume it is into form1.vb I am putting the code right? <!-- shock: --><img src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_eek.gif" alt="hock:" title="Shocked" /><!-- shock: --> Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-06-2011 Well, the good news is, you got no errors! And atleast the textbox is splurting out something, lol! Here is the exact code you need, sir. Code: sub rtb() Handles RichTextBox1.textchanged Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-06-2011 LMAO It's still shooting out random numbers. lol Oh my brains have gone wrinkled. LOL <!-- s:lol: --><img src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_lol.gif" alt=":lol:" title="Laughing" /><!-- s:lol: --> Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-07-2011 Hahahahah! Well unwrinkle those brains! We have a problem to solve!! How random are the numbers? Could we possibly get a screenshot? Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-07-2011 lol They are basically as follows: 205 2 305 3 405 4 505 5 605 6 etc etc etc. And goes really fast like it's doing something from The Matrix or something hahaha. Anyways, I did the following, which works in adding the line numbers. But with something like: 1|| 2|| 3|| etc, instead of just 1 2 3 etc. However, it doesn't take the line numbers away when you go back up: Code: Private Sub RichTextBox1_EnterKeyPressed(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs) Handles RichTextBox1.KeyDown Have NFI what's going on lol. Told you I was No0bie. <!-- s --><img src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_razz.gif" alt="" title="Razz" /><!-- s --> Re: I have searched all over for this - brandonio21 - 08-07-2011 Well I have to say that this whole thing is definitely a little strange... I don't really know how to fix it because I have no idea where the 405 and stuff is coming from, but if you want to delete the entries when you go back up, I think all you need to do is add Code: TextBox1.text = "" I am just baffled at why you are having problems getting this to work, I mean, the code provided should work no problem! Re: I have searched all over for this - VicDesigns - 08-08-2011 Yeah I have no doubt it should work. I am on my work computer now so as soon as I get a minute when the boss is not looking I will give it a go. <!-- s --><img src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_wink.gif" alt="" title="Wink" /><!-- s --> Re: I have searched all over for this - xolara - 09-09-2011 You kind sir did just discover The Matrix! ^^ |